The Fog Diver

The Fog Diver

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few determined slum kids just might become heroes. This Texas Bluebonnet selection—a fantasy filled with daring and hope and a wonderfully imaginative world—is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull.Once the Fog started rising, the earth was covered with a deadly white mist until nothing remained but the mountaintops. Now humanity clings to its highest peaks, called the Rooftop, where the wealthy Five Families rule over the lower slopes and floating junkyards.Thirteen-year-old Chess and his friends Hazel, Bea, and Swedish sail their rickety air raft over the deadly Fog, scavenging the ruins for anything they can sell to survive. But now survival isn't enough. They must risk everything to get to the miraculous city of Port Oro, the only place where their beloved Mrs. E can be cured of fogsickness. Yet the ruthless Lord Kodoc is hot on their trail, for Chess has a precious secret, one that Kodoc is desperate to use against him. Now Chess will face any danger to protect his friends, even if it means confronting what he fears the most.
Publisher: 2015
ISBN: 9780062352965
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
g
Gcatflann
Aug 16, 2019

The Fog Diver is a great book. I'm not sure if I like it or the sequel, The Lost Compass, better. The characters are hilariously appealing, loyal to a fault. The plot is amazing, the idea behind the story in incredibly plausible.

The Fog Diver is definitely a Sci-fi novel, but Joel Ross brings it down to earth with lovable characters- then takes it back up into the sky on a scavenger raft with whales painted on the hot-air balloons!

A joke around every corner, yet still mysteriously serious, The Fog Diver is a great read for both younger children and teen readers alike- and yes, even the odd adult couldn't be frowned upon to curl up with this book.

Five stars from me!

p
Peep1900
Jul 01, 2017

this book was incredible!! One of the best reads I have had this year. Reccomend for all ages! Definitely a great adventure and world!!

Chapel_Hill_KarinM Jan 04, 2016

I really, really liked this book. Set in a steampunk-y far future (fog covers the earth, people can only survive in the air or up on mountaintops) and featuring a motley group of scavenger kids hiding secrets and racing against the clock to save their friend from "fog sickness." Author apparently writes historical WW2 adventure fiction for grown-ups, but this is solid fantasy/adventure for kids and I can't wait for v.2!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top