The Cheerleaders

The Cheerleaders

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
10
3
"As a town prepares for the anniversary of the deaths of five cheerleaders who were killed in three separate, horrific accidents, two teens uncover long-buried truths about what really happened years ago"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, [2018]
ISBN: 9781524718329
1524718327
Characteristics: 372 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
pacl_teens Sep 01, 2020

The Cheerleaders, by Kara Thomas, strives to generate a mystery plot similar to those of Karen M. McManus, but fails to be as well-written. Two cheerleaders of Sunnybrook High were killed in a car accident. Another two were murdered by the man next door. The last one to die, Monica’s older sister, committed suicide. Five years later, Sunnybrook High wants to commemorate the cheerleaders. When Monica accidentally finds some letters in her step-father’s desk and her sister’s old cell phone, she is forced to go back to the cheerleaders’ deaths. As Monica dwells deeper into the past, she realizes that all is not what it seems. She finds inconsistencies and unanswered questions revolving around her sister’s and the other cheerleaders’ deaths. As Monica investigates the matter along with a strange, new friend, secrets are revealed. She realizes that the cheerleaders’ deaths were so much more than what they appeared.

One thing I liked about this book is that it is fairly fast paced. Unfortunately, a lot of it was cliched high school drama. I think this could have been avoided; but the book did have my attention throughout because it was very unpredictable.

I would recommend this as a one-time read for anyone who wants a quick mystery, and enjoys books by Karen M. McManus.
-Anjani, Grade 10

e
emilieaugusta
Jun 25, 2020

10/10! This book was so good! Perfect for anyone who loves a good murder mystery! It had a juicy ending and I liked how all the mysteries came together at the end!

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jun 01, 2020

This book had me hooked from the very first chapter to the point where I was up all night reading, just to find out what would happen at the end! This book had my mind running possibilities as to how everything would turn out with every word that I read. The plot of this story was very well thought upon and planned. I enjoyed this book because it had a sense of mystery towards every character that I was being introduced to throughout the whole story. At some point in the book, I found myself questioning the innocence of many characters who seemed to be perfectly innocent. The Cheerleaders took the casual term 'at the edge of my seat' and turned it into a literal term. I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone over the age of 13 who loves a good sense of thriller or mystery. 4 stars
@MissPeachPrincess of the Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

p
penelopegomez
Sep 04, 2019

I'm giving this book a big thumbs up. This murder investigation was very realistic. Although it was conducted by a high schooler named Monica who was hell bent on proving that her sisters "suicide" was really a MURDER. If I was a high schooler this was exactly how I would have conducted an investigation, gossiping with classmates, stalking people on Facebook, and just gathering as much information as I could. Since the author wrote this book very realistically there were parts of the book that were very slow, for example there were no more clues so there was a lull in the investigation. This made the book even better though because it gets you thinking right along with the main character, "Where can I find another clue? What did I miss during this investigation?" Another thing I loved about this book is that there were flashback chapters told from Monica's sister's perspective leading up to her death. As a clue is revealed so was a flashback chapter. I LOVE books told from multiple perspectives. This book was so good, I went out and bought the book before I had even finished reading it.

a
AnonymousLibrarian
Feb 08, 2019

This mystery kept me guessing and has a very satisfying ending.

JCLMeghanF Jan 28, 2019

This story was the perfect blend of dark YA angst and pulpy noir. When Monica finds some evidence that her older sister's suicide might not be a suicide at all, and in fact it might have some connection to several other mysterious deaths on the cheerleading squad, she starts investigating - and finds a lot more than she bargained for. If you're a fan of Veronica Mars, you'll definitely want to check out this twisty teen mystery.

z
zoeythekat
Jan 24, 2019

I really enjoyed this YA mystery. There were a lot of unexpected turns, mysterious characters, and suspenseful scenes. It was a complex plot with very real-feeling characters.

OPL_MichelleC Jan 17, 2019

A great YA murder mystery. Monica's sister and her fellow cheerleaders all died in the same year, when Monica was in middle school. Now, five years later, Monica is learning that what she thought she knew about the deaths is all false. Monica is NOT Veronica Mars, but she and a friend try to be.

OPL_KrisC Sep 05, 2018

A page-turning mystery that will keep you guessing!

d
darladoodles
Jul 08, 2018

A twisty thriller for the YA set. Typical teen girl drama gets in the way as Monica tries to figure out if the string of cheerleader deaths which ended with her older sister's suicide five years ago were what they seemed? Her biggest motivation is proving her sister did not commit suicide and in the four cheerleaders who died in the weeks before are all tangled up in the same web. Ginny Montero is a new girl on the dance team with Monica and becomes a lifeline for her -- a source of support and a help in tracing down leads. Through it all, Monica forges better relationships with her mom, stepfather and baby brother. Took one point off for a plot thread that seemed largely ignored regarding Monica's previous summer relationship.

Age

Add Age Suitability

yellow_butterfly_2986 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

a
AnonymousLibrarian
Feb 08, 2019

AnonymousLibrarian thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

OPL_KrisC Sep 05, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top