A Simple Favor

A Simple Favor

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
22
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling authorShe's your best friend.She knows all your secrets.That's why she's so dangerous.A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time. But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems. A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
Publisher: 2017
ISBN: 9780062497796
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
Lizarella
Apr 06, 2020

A delightfully frustrating novel with many twists that utilizes unreliable narrators and shows that those who seem to live picture perfect lives may not be all that they appear.

j
jurra
Sep 04, 2019

Really enjoyed this book! I finished it very quickly!

neyoscribbles May 30, 2019

Colossal understatement that this book is being compared to Gone Girl. Although there is a plot twist here and there, this book felt quite bland for me. The unreliability of the characters can be attributed to underdeveloped and boring characters whom it is difficult to identify with. No aspect of these characters are even remotely relatable and the ending is to be read like a cliffhanger but quite frankly, it is just so slow and terrible! How did this book get made into a movie?

JCLHeatherC Mar 06, 2019

For fans of Gone Girl.

p
pansey
Feb 23, 2019

At first i really enjoyed it,but after a whilei found it too slow going and boring.Hope the movies better,but i wont bother going to see it.

b
Brandonadam
Feb 18, 2019

A must read after seeing the movie. Honestly not sure which I enjoyed more. I did not find the book was as fast paced or as witty. That may say more about the actors than the author.

ArapahoeAlice Jan 28, 2019

Very disappointing. I kept thinking this would improve, but it didn't. The three main characters are two dimensional. Stephanie's blog posts about being a mom were so dumb, I thought it was a parody of a blog. I like psychological suspense with a slow build, but the pacing of this book drove me crazy. Scenes felt very repetitive, and Stephanie's behavior was obnoxious and stupid.

r
rooby2s
Jan 20, 2019

It kept my attention. I would rate it as an entertaining page-turner.
The reasons that it got such a low rating are as follows:
This book wasn't as good as I wanted it to be. Granted, the blog portions are supposed to be saccharine, and I liked that, but somehow the big denouement never quite arrived.
Also, while using different fonts for different voices is a good idea, I found the font for the blog difficult to read.

IndyPL_CarriG Nov 19, 2018

A fast-paced novel with unreliable narrators and a bit of tension - this book is definitely for fans of Gone Girl if you are looking for something similar. Mommy blogger Stephanie, whose husband and brother died in a tragic car accident, befriends a fellow mom from her son's school, Emily. Emily is a sophisticated professional with a beautiful home, handsome husband, and seemingly perfect life. When Emily disappears, Stephanie is desperate to find out what happened to her. Stephanie and Emily's friendship with strike astute readers oddly almost immediately, and while Bell's characters are not as complex as other writers of the genre she manages to create a familiar and fascinating dynamic between the two women.

g
Goodenergy5
Nov 06, 2018

Terrible and dismal book.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top