The Story of Arthur Truluv

The Story of Arthur Truluv

A Novel

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
36
6
1
"I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human."—Fannie FlaggAn emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them"Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg's previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers' heartstrings."—Booklist For the past six months, Arthur Moses's days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life. Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur—a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur's kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname "Truluv." As Arthur's neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew. Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.Praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv"For several days after [finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder we're all neighbors here."—Chicago Tribune "Not since Paul Zindel's classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should."—People, Book of the Week
Publisher: 2017
ISBN: 9780679605133
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
f
firebird770
May 17, 2019

Absolutely loved this book; so many happy moments and terribly sad ones but a book that made you think about what is really important in life. Arthur is an elderly man who visits his dearly departed wife each day at the cemetery where he shares a talk and a sandwich then returns home to an empty house. One day, while at the cemetery, he sees a young girl and eventually they become friends. And then he invites her to share his house along with a neighbour across the road. They become a family, sharing their lives. A wonderful ending as well. Could read it again.

i
ilovebookshc
Apr 03, 2019

via Sue H

d
DW_kcls
Mar 16, 2019

The Story of Arthur Truluv is un-put-downable. It very much reminds me of some of the gentle books coming from Swedish authors lately.

The Story of Arthur Truluv is about three very different people lost and struggling through their own lives, each drowning a bit more each day. When they find their way to each other they each blossom. There are many sad issues in the book, but they are dealt with kindness and gentleness and ultimately they are genuinely uplifting.

What is it that makes a family? Certainly no document does, no legal pronouncement or accident of birth. No, real families come from the choices we make about about who we want to be bound to, and the ties to such families live in our hearts.

The Story of Arthur Truluv is the perfect way to start the new year reading, reminding us there is and can be so much more kindness and courtesy in the world than we see and hear on our 'devices' from the perpetually babbling 'experts' and 'celebrities'.

z
zakksmom
Mar 09, 2019

What a great story. A must read.

l
LibraryLES
Mar 05, 2019

I loved this book! So sweet and heart-felt. The characters were well developed and you grew to be a part of their story. Highly recommended !!

m
MillieBT
Feb 26, 2019

Sweet, sad but overall heartwarming story.....Mandy a teenager girl becomes friends with an old man Arthur....she calls him Truluv after observing him at his wife's grave and realizing the type of relationship they have.....lovely tale that hints at the hardships the various characters face yet focuses instead on love that grows between them and forges a new family

m
mjk236sb
Feb 24, 2019

This is a lovely book about family, love, friendship and hope. These two neighbors and a young girl find a purpose and a family together. Arthur visits his wife's grave everyday sharing lunch with here and soon meets a young girl, who is feeling sad and completely alone. Together they will change their life and that of Arthur's neighbor Lucille. Reading this book will show you that there is still hope and love in this confusing world we are in now. Highly recommend this book.

d
Don_Me
Feb 10, 2019

Loved this book! A reminder that family does not have to be related by blood. And that getting old does not have to mean living with loneliness. Being open to listening to others and willing to share wisdom gained by having lived for many years can be invaluable to another who is struggling. If only everyone could have an Arthur in their life. Or, perhaps YOU can be an Arthur to someone.

b
burdeckija
Dec 27, 2018

Recommended by ? at the Help Center. Reserve this one next.

e
Einer2
Dec 23, 2018

A lovely heart warming story!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
f
firebird770
May 17, 2019

Arthur speaking; "Nola once told me she wished people could be stars in the sky and look down on those that they loved. I always wished that could be so. Let's you and I pretend it's true, even if it isn't, would that be okay with you?"
Maddy nods, her throat tight.
"And after I die, why, you look up in the sky for two stars, real close together. That will be Nola and me. Those stars will be so close together, it'll look like they are one, but they'll be two. Me, and then just to my right, Nola. Look up at us sometimes."

JCLCherylMY May 17, 2018

"It is happening more and more often, this kind of thing. It is happening more and more that when he stands beside a grave, his hat in his hand, part of a person's life story reaches him like the yeasty scent from the bakery he passes every day on his way to the bus stop. He stares at the slightly depressed earth over Adelaide's grave and here comes the pretty white lace dress she loved best, the inequality in the size of her eyes so light brown they were almost yellow. Tea-colored. It comes that her voice was high and clear, that she was shy to sing for her husband, but did so anyway. She did it at night, after they'd gone to bed; the night before she died, she lay in the darkness beside him and sang 'Jeannine, I Dream of Lilac Time.'" pg 4.

JCLCherylMY May 17, 2018

"He cares about words. He taught her one of her favorite words: hiraeth, a Welsh word that means a homesickness for a home you cannot return to, or that maybe never was; it means nostalgia and yearning and grief for lost places."

c
cknightkc
Feb 14, 2018

“What is it that makes a family? Certainly no document does, no legal pronouncement or accident of birth. No, real families come from choices we make about who we want to be bound to, and the ties to such families live in our hearts.” - p. 200

c
cknightkc
Feb 14, 2018

“Actors, painters, dancers, comedians, even just ordinary people doing ordinary things, what are they without an audience of some sort? See, that's what I do. I am the audience. I am the witness, I am the great appreciator that's what I do and that's all I want to do. I worked for a lot of years. I did a lot of things for a lot of years. Now, here I am in the rocking chair, and I don't mind it… I don't feel useless. I feel lucky.” - p. 128

c
cknightkc
Feb 14, 2018

“Arthur thinks that, above all, aging means the abandonment of criticism and the taking on of compassionate acceptance.” - p. 18

Age

Add Age Suitability
s
SZorn
Jun 22, 2018

SZorn thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top